

To: Board of Directors

From: Steve Simons, Fire Chief

Date: January 24, 2019

Subject: 2019 LAFCO Special District Election

Background

Local Agency Formation Commission's (LAFCO) Special District Selection Committee is requesting nominations for a regular & alternate representative as Special District Commissioners to serve four-year terms.

Attached are a memo with additional information and nomination form for your consideration.

Recommendation

Review the attached information and decide whether or not you will submit a nomination.



LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION

550 Main Street, Suite E. Placerville, CA 95667 (530) 295-2707 · lafco@edlafco.us · www.edlafco.us

MEMO

TO:

Presiding Officer

FROM:

José C. Henríquez, Executive Officer

El Dorado Local Agency Formation Commission

DATE:

January 3, 2019

SUBJECT:

Election of Special District Representatives to El Dorado LAFCO

Nominations for Special District Commissioner

The Special District Selection Committee is electing a regular & alternate representative. Each representative will serve a 4-year term beginning in May 2019.

Pursuant to the provisions of Government Code §56332(f), the Executive Officer has determined that the business of the Special District Selection Committee will be conducted in writing to elect a regular and an alternate Special District Representative for new four-year terms beginning in May 2019.

The nomination period will be 42 days; all nominations are due in writing on or before **February 15, 2019**. Nominations received after that date cannot be accepted and will be returned to your District. A nominee must be a Director from an independent special district within El Dorado County. To be valid, all nominations must include the following:

- Name and district of the nominee
- Name of the nominating district
- Signature of the Presiding Officer of the District's Board of Directors or the record of nomination made by majority vote at an official meeting of your District's board (Resolution or Minute Order can be attached)

Please submit a statement of qualifications (not to exceed one page) for each nominee.

Once the nomination period is closed, one ballot listing valid candidates and voting instructions will be sent via email to those Districts who have opted to receive and complete the election by email and by certified mail to each District opting to receive materials by mail. The one-page statement of qualifications will be included as submitted.

Contact the LAFCO office at (530) 295-2707, if you have any questions.

Enclosure: Election Nomination Ballot

Government Code §56332

S:/Elections/2019 Special District Election/2019 SDE Nomination Memo_Ballot/2019 Special District Election Nomination Memo.docx

COMMISSIONERS

Public Member: Michael Powell • Alternate Public Member: Dyana Anderly
City Members: Mark Acuna, Brooke Laine • Alternate City Member: John Clerici
County Members: Shiva Frentzen, Brian Veerkamp • Alternate County Member: Michael Ranalli
Special District Members: Ken Humphreys, Tim Palmer • Alternate Special District Member: Holly Morrison
STAFF

SPECIAL DISTRICT NOMINATION

Special District Representative to LAFCO

Position Nominee's Name		e's Name	Originating District
SIGNATURE OF PRESIDING OFFICER:			
		(Or	iginal Signature Required)
Note: Presiding Officer is the Chair/President. Any other signature invalidates this ballot, unless accompanied by Meeting Minutes designating an alternate.			
PRINTED NAME OF PRESIDING OFFICER:			
			(Required)
NAME OF NOMINATING DISTRICT:			
MINUTES ATTACHED (C	ptional):	Yes □	No □

Nominations must be received by LAFCO before 5:00 p.m. on February 15, 2019

Return to:

LAFCO 550 Main Street, Suite E Placerville, CA 95667

S:\Elections\2019 Special District Election\2019 SDE Nomination Memo_Ballot\2019 May SDE Nomination Ballot.docx

COMMISSIONERS

Public Member: Michael Powell • Alternate Public Member: Dyana Anderly
City Members: Mark Acuna, Brooke Laine • Alternate City Member: John Clerici
County Members: Shiva Frentzen, Brian Veerkamp • Alternate County Member: Michael Ranalli
Special District Members: Ken Humphreys, Tim Palmer • Alternate Special District Member: Holly Morrison
STAFF